FINROSFORUM Elects New Board, Chairman


The Finnish-Russian Civic Forum (FINROSFORUM) held its general meeting of members at the International Press Club (Pressiklubi) in Helsinki on 12 November 2011. The meeting elected a new board to represent the organisation for the next year.

FINROSFORUM’s new Chairman is Kerkko Paananen, who is one of the founding members of our organisation and who has long served as our organisation’s Information Secretary. He will continue to be in charge of FINROSFORUM’s communications.

Elisabeth Nordgren, freelance journalist and board member of Finnish PEN, is our new Deputy Chair. FINROSFORUM’s new Secretary is Sampo Saari, interpreter and a long-time active member of Amnesty International Finnish section.

The other board members are Oksana Chelysheva, deputy director of the Russian-Chechen Friendship Society; Olga Ignatieva-Vanhanen, translator and English teacher; Frank Johansson, Executive Director of Amnesty International Finnish section; Mikael Storsjö, entrepreneur and free speech activist; and Jarkko Tontti, writer and chairman of Finnish PEN.

FINROSFORUM welcomes new members in our work to promote democracy, human rights, and freedom of speech. You can contact us by email at as well as through Twitter or Facebook. The personal email addresses of the board members are in the form of

FacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInVKWordPressBlogger PostLiveJournalTumblrTelegramWhatsAppSMSEmailGoogle GmailOutlook.comMail.RuPrintFriendly

Leave a Reply