Russia: Opposition set up National Assembly

Russia’s opposition movements have joined in establishing a parallel parliament, National Assembly, in Moscow. The participants vowed to restore political democracy in the country. Altogether 85 organisations from 66 regions of Russia took part in the Assembly.

The National Assembly unites representatives of the Other Russia coalition, Smena, Oborona, National Bolshevik Party, and the United Civic Front (OGF). In addition, members of the Union of Rightist Forces (SPS), Yabloko, Russian People’s Democratic Union (RNDS), Communist Party of the Russian Federation (KPRF), Russian Republican Party are taking part in the Assembly. Other groups taking part include the Communist Party of the Soviet Union (KPSS), the Army of Popular Freedom (AVN), Union of Officers, and Great Russia.

The National Assembly elected a presidium, which consists of the Chairman of the St Petersburg branch of Yabloko Maxim Reznik, leader of the political wing of the Liberal Charter Andrey Illarionov, former Chairman of the Bank of Russia Viktor Gerasimov, one of the leaders of the Other Russia coalition Eduard Limonov, leader of the Russian Communist Party-CPSU (RKP-KPSS) Alexey Prigarin, leader of KPSS Oleg Shenin, former Duma deputy from the KPRF Alexey Kondaurov, and leader of the Moscow branch of Great Russia Alexander Krasnov

FacebookTwitterGoogle+LinkedInVKWordPressBlogger PostLiveJournalTumblrTelegramWhatsAppSMSEmailGoogle GmailOutlook.comMail.RuPrintFriendly
One Comment

Leave a Reply